More information


Application submission is not open at this time. Please check back.
More information

Stephen KlaineThe Stephen J. Klaine Environmental Education Award (formerly the SETAC/Menzie Environmental Education Award) recognizes an individual, group or organization for significant contributions to environmental education. The award is named in honor of Steve Klaine, who touched the lives of so many with his dedication to environmental science, teaching and mentoring of students during his 30-year career. As professor and director of Clemson University’s Institute of Environmental Toxicology, he was advisor to more than 40 doctoral and 45 master’s students. He was also committed to international student outreach, teaching in Cuba, Jamaica, Canada, Portugal, Vietnam, Africa and Australia. His efforts at capacity building in Vietnam resulted in the first collaborative master’s program in environmental toxicology between Hanoi University of Science and Clemson University. Klaine had a long-term dedication to SETAC and, through his teaching and mentoring of students, an immense impact on environmental science globally. Therefore the award, formerly known as the SETAC/Menzie Environmental Education Award, was renamed in 2016 to pay tribute to his efforts.


If you or anyone you know has made significant contributions to environmental education either through educating other educators or by working with community groups and K-12 programs, please consider submitting an award application. The award alternates between honoring an individual educator of educators and individuals or groups and organizations engaged in educating the public.  The 2020 award will target groups and organizations engaged in educating the public.  The recipient of this award will receive $1,000 donated by SETAC members.

Contributions should be related to one of the following areas:

  • Improving environmental science curricula and technical education at any level of the educational system
  • Developing programs that enhance environmental literacy and awareness in youth and the general public
  • Supporting innovative educational programs that encourage and stimulate the professional development of environmental scientists.

Application Instructions

The candidate does not have to be a SETAC member and may be nominated by a nonmember or member of the society. The candidate must present documentation of contributions made to support the specified criteria of the award.

Application Instructions:

The application package must contain all of the material requested to be considered for the award.

  • Letter of nomination (Two (2) pages maximum). This letter shall include a written overview of the organization, program, project purpose and accomplishments and supporting documentation of contributions made to the specified criteria of the award, i.e., significant contributions to environmental education either through educating other educators or by working with community groups and K-12 programs;
  • Two (2) letters of support from individuals should focus on the award criteria. These letters should be no more than two (2) pages and contain information is not included in the Letter of Nomination. The support letters should clearly describe the impact of the nominee’s work that aligns with the effort with the Award’s purpose, eligibility and/or criteria;
  • Biographical Sketch for Individual Nominees – A biographical sketch that is a brief (3000 characters or fewer) bio that focuses on the award criteria. (Please do not include a list of publications.);
  • Citation (50 words or fewer) – Include a suggested citation that can be inscribed on the award and used to summarize the accomplishment (e.g., for his or her outstanding accomplishment…).

Selection Process

The SETAC North America Awards and Fellowships Subcommittee for Professional Awards will evaluate nominations.

Award Procedure

The winner will be announced at the SETAC North America annual meeting. The recipient will receive a free registration to the SETAC North America annual meeting and $1000 US Dollars award funding.

For further information, contact Laura Swanson.