More information


Applications must be submitted by 17 March 2020.
More information

Herb Award Winner Ruth HullRenamed in 1999 to honor Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry founding Editor-in-Chief C.H. (Herb) Ward for his important contributions to the founding and development of SETAC, this award recognizes any past or present SETAC member who has performed long-term, exceptionally high-quality service to the Society.


The candidate must be a member of the Society and have provided long-term, exceptional service to the Society. Nominations may be made by the candidate or by a past or present SETAC member. The nomination must be accompanied by documentation of service made to the Society.

Application Instructions

An application package containing the following materials must be submitted electronically to the Rebecca Bundschuh.

  1. Letter of nomination.
  2. A curriculum vitae (5 pages maximum).
  3. Documentation of service to the Society.
  4. Three (3) letters of recommendation. Letter should provide explanation for eligibility and details of how candidate excels among colleagues with regard to duration and extent of service to SETAC.
  5. One high-resolution photo

Selection Process

The SETAC Global Awards Committee will evaluate nominations independently by using a standardized score sheet.

The candidates will be reviewed on the services provided to the Society. For example,

  • as a governance leader (local/chapter, geographic unit and/or global level),
  • involvement  in various volunteer committees, advisory groups or other entities,
  • support of SETAC meetings (e.g. meeting organization and/or other support services),
  • involvement with the membership including students and young scientists at SETAC events,
  • helping SETAC maintaining its professional excellence through scientific discourse, outreach and other means.

Award Procedure

An appropriate certificate or plaque is given to the awardee at the time of presentation. Announcement of the awardee will be made at a SETAC annual meeting most convenient to the awardee.

For further information contact Rebecca Bundschuh