The SETAC Europe Awards Programme recognizes and honors outstanding contributions of individuals or groups of individuals to the environmental sciences and to the Society. The candidates are evaluated by the SETAC Europe Awards Committee and for the LCA awards by the SETAC Europe Life Cycle Assessment Interest Group Steering Committee and ratified by the SETAC Europe Council.

The following award winners were announced and celebrated during SETAC SciCon: SETAC Europe 30th Annual Meeting, which was held virtually from 3–7 May 2020.

Ionan Marigomez AllendeNoack Laboratorien Outstanding Science Award

Ionan Marigomez Allende

University of the Basque Country, Spain

The 2020 Noack Laboratorien Outstanding Science Career Award honours Ionan Marigomez. The award recognises his contribution to environmental science and his outstanding record of interdisciplinary activities in the dissemination of knowledge on environmental sciences. Ionan Marigomez’s is professor at The University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU). Ionan works tirelessly to communicate and disseminate knowledge on and understanding of environmental sciences and to educate students, professionals as well as the public.

Rolf FrischknechtEDANA Awards for Lifetime Achievement in Life Cycle Assessment

Rolf Frischknecht

treeze Ltd, Switzerland

In 2020 the award is presented to Rolf Frischknecht, who is widely recognized for his outstanding contributions to life cycle inventory databases and methodology. He is especially known for his leading role from 1998 to 2008 in the design, development, implementation and operation of the life cycle inventory database ecoinvent laying a solid ground for its sustainable recognition and worldwide success. His major methodological contributions cover allocation in joint production and recycling, decision oriented LCA, as well as key developments within the Ecological Scarcity Method, such as the first regionalized water scarcity indicator.

Michael BurkardRifcon Early Career Scientist Award

Michael Burkard

eawag, Switzerland

Michael Burkard is an early career researcher working at eawag on the caLIBRAte project. The project’s aim was to develop a suite of tested and calibrated, nano-specific risk priorization tools to leverage past and on-going nanosafety research for a next generation nano-risk governance framework.

Nadia MirabellaLife Cycle Assessment Young Scientist Award

Nadia Mirabella

KU Leuven, Belgium

City Environmental Footprint – Development of a new methodology to calculate the environmental impact of cities

The SETAC Europe Young Scientist LCA Award recognises exceptional achievements by a young scientist in the field of Life Cycle Assessment.

Sponsored by LENZING AG and Springer Nature

Young Scientist Awards 2020

Honoring a young scientist for the best platform and poster presentations at the SETAC Europe 30th Annual Meeting / SETAC SciCon.

ECOTOC Best Platform

Eldbjørg B. Vea

Technical University of Denmark, Denmark

Eldbjørg Vea received the best platform award for her presentation “ Framework to Define Environmental Sustainability Boundaries”

SETAC Europe Best Poster

Elizabeth Holton

University of Bath, United Kingdom

Elizabeth Holton received the award for her poster entitled “Monitoring of antibiotics, pollutants, and AMR in formal and informal settlements: Back-calculation of antibiotic usage in the absence of prescription data”